Monthly Archives: April 2022

The Ladies Pairs Competition

The Ladies Pairs Competition was won by Chris Vater and Nikki Coombs of Oakettes who beat Kayley Pitfield and Nikki Fowler of Vixens.

The competition was held at the Trinity Club and had 22 entries the Oakettes pair beat Mix Ups in the semi final while in the other semi final the Vixens pair beat Crackerjacs.

Skimmers second in Section A

Skimmers 6-pins victory at the Goldies against Patriots clinched the runners up spot to Barmy Army in Section A finishing a point above Breakaways.

Skimmers were formed in 1978 playing at the Prince of Wales, Puddletown and won Section E in their very first season, won the D section in 1980 before coming runners up in Section C in 1981, and then promotion to Section A came in 1982 after winning Section B, they have been in Section A ever since making them the longest running team in the Section. There have been five Section A titles in seasons, 90-91, 92,93, 04-05, 17-18 and 18-19, while they have been runners up now on four occasions, 92, 95, 99 and this season.

The Knockout Cup has been won on three occasion 1992 against Frampton Arms ‘A’, 1995 against Sou’westers and in 2001 against Slingers, while they were runners up in 2007 to the Imps.

When the Prince of Wales closed in 2000 the Skimmers moved into town and played at the Bulls Head, and over the years have also played home matches from the Cornwall Hotel (which changed to the Ghurkha), back to the Bulls Head, Dorchester Town Football Club, back to the Bulls Head and now play at the Victoria Hotel.   

Crackerjacs finish runners up

Crackerjacs won their last three league matches to finish up runners up to Oakettes in the Ladies League. The Crackerjacs can be traced back to the mid 80’s when Pen Pushers were formed.

Pen Pushers joined the Ladies Section B in the 1984- 85 season which the duly won at the first attempt . Pen Pushers went on to win the Ladies Section A on three occasions 1992, 1995 and 1998, while they were runners up three times as well, 1994, 1999 and 2000. The Ladies Knockout Cup was won five times, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1999 and 2001. From the 2001-02 season the team changed their name to Crackerjacs and they were runners up in Ladies Section A in the 03-04 season. There was just one ladies league from the 13-14 season and the Jacs finished runners up in both the 15-16 and 16-17 season before winning the league in the 17-18 season. The Crackerjacs won the Knockout Cup in season 14-15 and were runners up on three occasions, 11-12, 12-13 and 17-18. The Plate was won in the 08-09 season.