Skimmers make it 40 years in Section A

Skimmers have been in Section A since 1982 making them the team with the longest current unbeaten run of seasons in the top section. Formed in 1978 Skimmers climbed to the top section which they have won on five occasions.

Teams current continuous years in Section A

Skimmers 1982

Breakaways 1988

Imps 1995

Wide Boys 1998

Royal Oak Wanderers 2002 (promoted as Marco)

Patriots 2003

Barmy Army 2011

Dewlish Monsters 2012

Jolly Green Giants 2016

Puddletown Wanderers 2018

Woodmen 2022

Hammers 2022

Although Skimmers record is very impressive Dewlish Monsters were in Section A from 1957 (at the time Milborne Monsters) until relegation in 2011, but the Milborne outfit were in Section B just one season as they gained promotion as champions which means they have played over 60 years in Section A.

Another long run in Section A was from Colliton Spares who as Colliton B (formed in 1956) played in the top section from 1959 until Spares were relegated in 2009 (They became Colliton Spares in 1985 after one season being called Colliton 7-2 Bang 15)

The oldest teams names still going from the information that we have our Puddletown Wanderers and Puddletown Nomads who were both in the fixture book in 1954.

Brewers Bees are another team that can be traced back to the 50’s. As Brewers Arms ‘B’ they played in 1957 with the name change to Brewers Bees in 1960.

*This info is as accurate as possible with the history records that we have.